Australian Open

Australian Open Tennis Championships

The Australian Open is a tennis tournament held annually over the last fortnight of January in Melbourne, Australia. The tournament is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis events held each year, preceding the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open. It features men's and women's singles; men's, women's, and mixed doubles; junior's championships; and wheelchair, legends, and exhibition events. Prior to 1988 it was played on grass courts, but since then two types of hardcourt surfaces have been used at Melbourne Park – green coloured Rebound Ace up to 2007 and, afterwards, blue Plexicushion.

Australian Open News and Videos   LIVE

ℹī¸ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

Players have taken to the court for day two of Australian Open qualifying following a three-hour delay due to smoke blanketing Melbourne from bushfires.
Credit: SBS - Published 5 days ago

Smoke from the Victorian bushfires has forced Australian Open organisers to delay the start of play on day two of qualifying.
Credit: SBS - Published 5 days ago

Australia on Tuesday urged international tourists to put aside concerns about raging bushfires after the United States downgraded a travel warning, even as thick..
Credit: Reuters - Published 5 days ago

Dalila Jakupovic suffered a coughing fit during play on Tuesday.
Credit: SBS - Published 5 days ago

Swimming pools, race tracks and government offices have been shut down as thick smoke blankets Victoria.
Credit: SBS - Published 5 days ago

You might like