New Zealand

Island country in the South Pacific

New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It comprises two main landmasses—the North Island and the South Island —and around 600 smaller islands, covering a total area of 268,021 square kilometres (103,500 sq mi). New Zealand is about 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the islands of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. The country's varied topography and sharp mountain peaks, including the Southern Alps, owe much to tectonic uplift and volcanic eruptions. New Zealand's capital city is Wellington, and its most populous city is Auckland.

New Zealand News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

New Zealand's Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern reintroduced lockdown restrictions to parts of the country after five new coronavirus cases broke the country's..
Credit: SBS - Published 4 days ago

Experts say flare ups in the country’s community transmission of coronavirus were always expected and the elimination strategy remains on track.
Credit: SBS - Published 4 days ago

New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern is speaking live with a COVID-19 update.
Credit: SBS - Published 4 days ago

New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern to speak shortly after the country records a new COVID-19 outbreak after 100 days with new cases.
Credit: SBS - Published 4 days ago

It's believed the man was from New Zealand and had been in detention for about four years.
Credit: SBS - Published 5 days ago

You might like