Northern Territory

Federal territory of Australia

The Northern Territory is an Australian territory in the central and central northern regions of Australia. It shares borders with Western Australia to the west, South Australia to the south, and Queensland to the east. To the north, the territory looks out to the Timor Sea, the Arafura Sea and the Gulf of Carpentaria, including Western New Guinea and other islands of the Indonesian archaepeligo. The NT covers 1,349,129 square kilometres (520,902 sq mi), making it the third-largest Australian federal division, and the 11th-largest country subdivision in the world. It is sparsely populated, with a population of only 244,761, fewer than half as many people as Tasmania.

Northern Territory News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
The trial will see up to 170 workers come to Australia to help with the 2020 harvest.
Credit: SBS - Published 3 days ago

Tasmania will not open its border to SA, WA and NT residents at the end of the week as planned, Premier Peter Gutwein has announced.
Credit: SBS - Published 4 days ago

A police officer has resigned after failing to complete COVID-19 forms when crossing the border from Queensland to the Northern Territory.
Credit: SBS - Published 6 days ago

A woman from Darwin has tested positive to COVID-19, bringing the total number of cases diagnosed in the Northern Territory to 34.
Credit: SBS - Published 6 days ago

Up to 200 fruit pickers from Vanuatu could be bound for the Northern Territory in coming weeks under a pilot program to bring in Pacific workers for the harvest..
Credit: SBS - Published 1 week ago

You might like