Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch)

State branch of the Australian Labor Party

The Australian Labor Party , also known as Victorian Labor, is the semi-autonomous Victorian branch of the Australian Labor Party (ALP). The Victorian branch comprises two major wings: the parliamentary wing and the organisational wing. The parliamentary wing comprising all elected party members in the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council, which when they meet collectively constitute the party caucus. The parliamentary leader is elected from and by the caucus, and party factions have a strong influence in the election of the leader. The leader's position is dependent on the continuing support of the caucus and the leader may be deposed by failing to win a vote of confidence of parliamentary members. By convention, the premier sits in the Legislative Assembly, and is the leader of the party controlling a majority in that house. The party leader also typically is a member of the Assembly, though this is not a strict party constitutional requirement.

Australian Labor Party (Victorian Branch) News and Videos   LIVE

ℹī¸ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets
Victorian Labor Premier Daniel Andrews has again declined to back calls for embattled building union leader John Setka to step down from his job.
Credit: The Age - Published 1 hour ago

The Victorian Labor government and federal coalition have struck a deal confirming how they will pay for the National Disability Insurance Scheme in the state.
Credit: SBS - Published 1 day ago

You might like